Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alermar_gw

Revised layout -- please critique -- I need some sleep :)

alermar
10 years ago

After numerous revisions and another sleepless night with kitchen designs running through my head, I came up with the following. I am not very good at envisioning what this will look like in reality though

The benefit of this design is that I would have the view of the pool/canal from both the sink and cooktop. What do you all think?

Here is the original thread for background info
http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/kitchbath/msg0213170520238.html

Comments (14)

• fourkids4us
    10 years ago

Perhaps I missed it in you earlier threads but what is in that 8' space b/w the ovens and fridge? I'm not a designer but it seems like it would be congested with everything all in a row on the island and the fridge right behind the sink. That said, I do understand why you would want a nice view from both your sink and range. I'm trying to work that out in my own kitchen layout!

• User
    10 years ago

Cooking is only 10% of thetime you spend in your kitchen. Prep is 70%. Put the cooktop on the back wall so it isn't so useless. The counter space that's there won't be used as you've got all of the action crowded into the island (with the prep and cleanup zones awkwardly intermixed.)

• blfenton
    10 years ago

I agree with hollysprings. Right now the only place you have to do prep is between the fridge and oven and that is what most of your time is spent doing. So you will have your back turned to the view most of the time.

Prepping - cutting, chopping, mixing, collecting, sorting vegies, -all of that will be done with your back to the view. You have no other space to do it. Put the range on the back counter and then switch the DW and the trash.

You will then prep where the range is currently planned and you want to prep by the trash and get the DW out of the way.

• canuckplayer
    10 years ago