Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
susan_2008

Holigator, How did you do the mock up of ..

susan_2008
16 years ago

Karlau's backsplash. I mean, did you use certain software? I am just beginning my kitchen reno and could really use help visualizing. Thanks

Susan

Comments (8)

• holligator
    16 years ago

You'll laugh, because it was sooooo easy. I used Microsoft Word and my computer's screenshot program. I took a screenshot of the kitchen and then another of each of the tiles. I inserted the kitchen pic into a Word document and then one of the tile pics. I formatted the tile pic to go "in front of text" so I could place it on top of the kitchen pic and then copied and pasted more of the same until it filled the space. I used the drawing functions to "Arrange" the individual pieces if one needed to "Move forward" or "Move backward" until I had what I wanted. On some of them, I had to "Rotate" the tile pic to align it properly. Finally, I took another screenshot of the pic with the kitchen and tile combined and saved it as a jpg.

If I wasn't simply superimposing a square multiple times onto another pic, I would have used Photoshop. But, under the circumstances, this was easier and faster (about 90 seconds per mock-up).

I hope this makes sense.

• holligator
    16 years ago

Also, I am an extremely visual person. I am pretty good at picturing what something will look like, but I find that it really, really helps me to actually see it. I used Word's drawing function many, many times during my own remodel to see how things would work. Once you get familiar with all it can do, it can be an extremely easy and useful tool.

Here are some examples...

Trying to decide on one pendant or two over the sink:

(the faucet is a curved arrow, everything else is either a line or a "basic" shape)

I used it for planning my pantry wall, going from an inspiration pic, to a drawing showing the modifications I wanted, to the real thing: