Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bkinsey

Can someone please explain to me.....?

bkinsey
14 years ago

I was planning on a simple square raised panel door, and it seems the more I look I am falling in love with kitchens that have shaker doors instead. I was told by someone that true shaker doors are reverse raised panel...can someone explain to me what that means exactly and if that is the way true shakers are made what other way do people make them that isn't "true" shaker style. And is there a quality or price difference in the two ways? Sorry if these are stupid questions but I am new to alot of this! Also, I would LOVE to see pictures of shaker kitchens if you have them.

Thanks!!!

Comments (23)

• pinch_me
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

When I chose my door style, I went to a friend's house to look at her old original cabinet doors. They were raised panels. I was quite surprised as I thought the plainer doors were Shaker. I went ahead and used the plain door style I had chosen but tried to "decorate" in a less modern style.

Here is a link that might be useful: shaker kitchen

• palimpsest
    14 years ago

Raised panel doors were not always raised on both sides. Sometimes the reverse of the panel was flat. (Raising it on one side, or both, added thickness and sturdiness.) The Shakers thought this extra detail caused by the raise was too fancy, so they turned it inside out, and put the flat panel on the outside. Traditional shaker doors are still sometimes made this way, while sometimes they are recessed on both sides, or sometimes flush on the reverse.

• rufinorox
    14 years ago

here are pictures of our cabinets.

Here is a link that might be useful:

• cawfeegirl
    14 years ago

Dont know if mine is a "true" Shaker door but I love them:

{{gwi:1746465}}

• altagirl
    14 years ago

Check out Plain English cabinetry from England for some pics.

Here is a link that might be useful: Plain English Cabinets

• remodelfla
    14 years ago