Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ctcook

Seeking comments on kitchen design

Ctcook
10 years ago

Hi,

This is my first time posting, but I have been lurking for a while and getting lots of ideas for my upcoming kitchen remodel. I'm nervous that there are some flaws to the design that I'm overlooking, so I'm hoping to make use of the brainpower here on the kitchen forum.

My story is that my husband and I have 3 kids aged 9-13. i like to cook and we like to entertain. I'm usually the only cook, but I do enjoy making pizzas and cookies with the kids sometimes. The biggest flaw with my current kitchen (other than being 50 years old) is a lack of counter space, so having room to spread out is a big priority for me. I really want to have an island, even if that means having narrower passageways than would be ideal.

Thank you in advance for your time and I welcome all comments! Here are the pictures of my design:

Overhead View:

Range Wall:

Island:

Peninsula Front:

Peninsula Back:

Pantry Wall:

Comments (9)

• User
    10 years ago

2 doorways to the family room? Have you thought of closing one off? All that space unused in the breakfast area? Could you adapt to eating ylur meals at the dining table? Walls between the family room and dining room. Could you think about taking one of them down? Moving plumbing?

If you could take one of the walls down and close up one of the family room entrances, there's a better layout to be had.

• Ctcook
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you for taking a look, hollysprings. To answer some of your questions:

We have only 1 doorway to the family room right now, and adding a second is something I'm really looking forward to, to connect the 2 rooms better. Unfortunately I can't open the wall any more because there is a large fireplace on that wall on the family room side.