Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Where do I put the DW?

Posted by heatheron40 (My Page) on
Sat, Mar 8, 14 at 16:05

O.K. so I am a long time lurker! I'll try and get all the information in I can.
We have been planning this kitchen remodel for 20 years. This is our "take me out in a box" house- it is 150 years old. I am a one butt kitchen, kids are leaving the nest, we have 75+ people parties 3X or more a year, entertain extended family for holidays. I am an art teacher, so I must admit Form a little over function, but I think they can mutually co-exist.
Reading here for years, I think I have an O.K. plan. Walls and doors can't move.

So, Where do I put the dishwasher?
 photo P1120211.jpg

This post was edited by heatheron40 on Sat, Mar 8, 14 at 16:33

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Where do I put the DW?

I can barely read your layout. Can you go over the lines with a fine tip sharpie?

I would move the range to the wall the fridge is on and move the fridge either where the range is on the diagram or to the bottom wall. I can't read what is there.

o

OK I think this is better. The long wall at the bottom are shallow cabinets about 20" deep.

Thank you,
Heather

o

I like the DW on the other side of the sink, from the range. This gives you prep space on one side and clean up, on the other.

Just a quick idea (need at least 3' on either side of the island) but moved stools to end and slid German cabinet over to make room for fridge and pantry. Maybe a small prep sink on island across from fridge? Microwave could go in island, pantry, upper cabinets, etc...your choice :)

From Kitchen plans

o

I like what LL did.

o

Thank you guys so much for the wonderful ideas! We have been throwing around the idea about switching the range and fridge too. Hubby said no sink in island- I want fancy legs.....@;).