Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tinker1121

Placement of "blended" color backsplash tiles

tinker1121
10 years ago

I really like the "blended" look some tile manufacturers have in their lines. The look is created by combining three closely coordinated shades that are sold as a "blend" instead of ordering separate colors.
I am considering one for my backsplash but worry about my tile guy having the eye to place these shades. My thought is he has never seen this look before although he does tiling but a carpenter by trade and I trust him to do quality work but think I will need to guide him on the placement. Is there a guide written anywhere or a
rule of thumb for installing a blend of colors? I know it is not to be uniform but I think a strong blend in the wrong place could really not be easy on the eye.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Comments (9)

• martinkk333
    10 years ago

We did a 'blend' of 4 6 x 6 in a tub surround on all three walls. The idea was that the tiles looked random, however, in actuality, I laid the entire thing (all three walls) out on the bedroom floor and moved them around until I liked the layout. They looked randomly placed, but they weren't. You could probably use that method with a backsplash. Just lay it out like you like it and he can place them on the walls in that order. Here is a pic of the tile. You can only see one wall, but you get the idea.

• sas95
    10 years ago

It took us quite a bit of work to get a pattern that looked random. We ended up moving tile around on the floor until we found a placement that looked good to us, then made a chart of this pattern for our contractor to use. He wasn't thrilled with the extra work, but I would not have trusted him to come up with a pleasing arrangement on his own. And he was a good tile person, too.

• ineffablespace
    10 years ago

If you have the time, I would lay it out yourself and label the tiles with tape.

• tinker1121