Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tile_gw

Recessed Lights: Worth it? Alternatives?

Tile
10 years ago

We're completely renovating our kitchen and rewiring the electric up to code. The general contractor wants $100/light, including materials, for our 170 sqft kitchen.

Do you think recessed lights are worth the investment? Are there alternatives that will look as good or better than recessed lighting?

Our ceilings are 9.5 feet high, and we will be installing ikea-style countertop rail lights under the wall cabinets.

Ikea also sells cabinet lights that recreate the effect of recessed lighting, but I can't tell if they're ugly or not. I'm still new to the world of kitchen lighting.

Comments (14)

• Texas_Gem
    10 years ago

My only experience in kitchen lighting until my current kitchen has been having one or two light fixtures centered in the room or having a fluorescent fixture. All of these lights had the same problem.
    Light coming from one point of contact no where near the work zones. I would always have shadows and would compensate with under counter lighting but it still wasn't perfect.

To me, the kitchen is the one room that it is absolutely worth it to have recessed lighting. The only other alternative I can think of would be track lighting. You really want light coming from multiple sources and hitting the tops of your counters so when you are standing at the counter and working, you aren't casting your shadow.

I do have to say 100 a can seems so expensive though! I have done all the work myself though so it is entirely possible that is a normal rate.

• elphaba_gw
    10 years ago

Does $100 a can include both the hardware plus the labor to install? or just the hardware? or just the labor?