Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mermom1

More range hood hell- re: height, depth

Mermom1
11 years ago

I'm a newbie on GW and know there are other threads on this topic, but we just discovered a serious problem and I'm hoping for help from all you wonderful, knowledgeable people. Our kitchen remodel is in the final stages and it looks to me like the range hood that is here and ready to be installed will not be right...that is, if I expect to actually cook on my fantastic 36" Wolf gas range top without whacking my head and if we want to be able to get into the cupboards in the corner to one side of the rangetop.

Particulars: I'm 5'5" and DH is 6'2". We will be venting to the exterior, with a couple of bends in the ducting. We have 8' ceilings and the KD installed small cabinets below the molding, mostly to cover the hood venting. We've been told we need a 36" hood with 600 cfm blower. The appliance store (recommended by the KD) said that a Best by Broan would be the best for us, so we ordered it and it's here waiting to be installed. The problem is that it is 18" tall, which puts the lower edge at about 26" above the counter (maybe even less if you measure from the top of the burner grates). Counters & range top are not installed yet, so we have to guesstimate. The hood sticks out a full 24" from the wall, so it covers the whole cooking surface. At that height and depth I cannot see how I can cook (and I plan to be REALLY cooking, if you know what I mean). The edge of the hood will be hitting me at the top of my nose, and my poor DH will have to duck way down. Worst of all, in addition to not being able to cook comfortably, we may be doing some serious injury to ourselves. Another problem is that with the hood sticking out this far, it will be very difficult to access the cabinets on the right, which are in a corner.