Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lizpel12

Table vs. Island

LizPel12
11 years ago

Hello - newbie here - I have tried searching, sorry if this is repetitive, but it is hard to wade through all the great information on this site! We are just starting to think about renovating the small kitchen in our new house. The current layout allows for a small 4-person breakfast table (conveniently, we are a family of four!) but does not offer the best work environment for the chef (DH) and is not really a place for guests to congregate. I've not had a kitchen table before, and I love it! As we begin to think about this, we are looking at three options:

1) renovate in the existing footprint (plan attached - what you can't see is that we are reorienting a closet so the eating area is gaining 3 feet of wall space next to the pantry even if we just do this, so it is a reasonable improvement)
2) 3' cantilevered bumpout to the right (range wall), add center island and replace current eating area with 12" deep pantry/storage wall to the left (42" btw. range and island and 48" btw. island and pantry wall, 36" DW/sink to island - island approx. 68"x36" with 48"x24" of cabinetry so 10" overhang on each end and 12" overhang on pantry wall side). In this option the fridge would move to the start of the range run - in/near corner by door from dining room
3) breakfast room addition (approx 9x11) off the back (sink/DW wall) creating approx. 5' peninsula where sink/DW are and also the pantry wall, but 24" deep

For both 2 & 3 we would likely open the door from the dining room (wall oposite sink) for better flow.