Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
efeuer

Feedback on kitchen layout

Liz
11 years ago

Hello forum,

I am in the planning stage of renovation of my 25-year-old kitchen. I would like some feedback on a proposed layout I have worked out. It is just a tweak on my current layout, but I don't think I want to radically redesign things. The U-shaped kitchen I have been using for the last 30 years suits me fine. I cannot imagine a more convenient workspace. The main change I would like to make is to eliminate the overhanging cabinets above the peninsula to open up the room and give a nice sight line into the adjacent family room. I also want to update from the country style we now have to a more contemporary look.

The first floorplan shown is the current one. The second is my revision.

The adjacent family room was recently redone. It is a little more contemporary than the rest of the house, with cherrywood paneling in a natural stain. The sofa and chairs are new and generally transitional/contemporary, and the occasional tables are Danish modern from the 1960s, in teakwood, bought used on eBay. The colors are all shades of brown and beige, with some accents in the burnt orange/red color range.

My new design encroaches about 6 inches on the existing dinette. This still allows us to put a table and chairs in there, and gives enough clearance to be able to get into and out of the chairs. Having a proper, sit down table is very important to me. My current table seats six, which is ideal for when my grown children visit. I do not want to trade the table for an island or bar seating. I really like being able to have a family meal or informal get-together in the kitchen rather than the dining room.

Having said all that, I really am trying to remain open-minded at this stage. If anyone has other suggestions, I would be glad to hear them. Thanks to all.
Liz Feuer

Comments (8)

• ControlfreakECS
    11 years ago