Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mc87yanks_gw

Kitchen Layout - Looking for Opinions

mc87yanks
11 years ago

Hey GW community! I've been browsing these forums religiously for the two years since we purchased our first home. We've completed a lot of our big projects already, but it's finally time to deal with the kitchen so I thought it was finally time to join the forums..

I have an architect friend who worked up the attached layout for us, which includes completely relocating all services, appliances, windows, etc. as well as building a dining area out of the back 10' of the garage.

I've seen great layout advice provided throughout the forum, and I was hoping to get some opinions on the general layout of the kitchen, as well as a few ideas we are still bouncing around.

The first idea that we are still unsure of is going with a stainless steel farmhouse sink. The cabinets will be shaker style white cabinets, with most likely a white marble top. The floors will be a dark hardwood. With the very light nature of the room, I think the stainless sink would provide great contrast, I'm just concerned that will be too much in that 5' space we have to work with.

Another issue is the lighting over the peninsula. I love the Benson pendants from Restoration Hardware and have seen similar styles in smaller sizes, but will they be too much for the room? Should we go with pendants at all with our 8 foot ceilings? We definitely want a sight line between the kitchen and the dining room, so if we went with them we would only have them hang approximately 24".

The last item we go back and forth on daily is the exterior door. I love the idea of a sliding glass door, but I'm concerned it will take up too much of the "dining" area and will make the table look like it is too large.