Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
a2gemini_gw

My "Island"

a2gemini
11 years ago

I have been using my wonderful new kitchen for over 6 months (although I still have some outstanding punch list items on stickies by my garden window....)
I knew my bake zone was a bit small but thought I would use my old cart - well my DH decided we needed something nicer.

I snagged this brand new Boos Cart on Craig's List and it is just the ticket! It did come with the 3 most feared words - Some Assembly Required" and I did have to make a trip to Chitown to snag it from my DB and SIL who held it hostage until we picked it up after the CL exchange they did for me.

It is a portable island and I have a home for it in the sunroom or if I want to hide it, I can put it in the pantry.
It also has a power strip underneath the block - but a short cord

It makes all the difference in the world - I love my new island!!!

Island in action (IIA) - making a batch of mom's swiss steak and a crock of Pot Roast

From the other side

Comments (13)

• localeater
    11 years ago

Love it(and your whole kitchen). Do the locking wheels work well?

• badgergal
    11 years ago

Woohoo! What a great find. It's the perfect addition to your fabulous kitchen. I'm sure it will help make all your cooking and baking sessions a little easier.
    Any new recipes you want to share? :)

• Mizinformation
    11 years ago

Congrats! Looks great in the space, and super functional. I imagine that with such a heavy block, the whole thing is pretty stable when the wheel locks on. Don't you just love Craigslist karma? Good stuff that goes around, comes around!

• a2gemini
    Original Author
    11 years ago

localeater - the brakes work well - but on a wood floor, I can still move it a bit if I try hard enough.

Badger - I am working on pizza's but not very good so far. I used my DM recipe for the swiss steak - but haven't tried it yet.