Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kkupstate

Size of Euro Style Bar Pulls?

kkupstate
16 years ago

Hi! I'm a newbie who's been lurking for a short while and decided to make my first post...

I am interested in the European style stainless steel bar pulls but am confused to what length they should come in. Should they run the whole length for drawers? And what about doors - including tall pantry ones? I saw one post that used 1/2 size for the doors (15" for a 30" door), but I was wondering if there were any "rules of thumb" out there.

I realize it is probably personal preference but if anyone has any pics they could share, I would grateful. I am having a tough time visualizing!

I look forward to your advice! Thanks!

Comments (6)

• pharaoh
    16 years ago

In my kitchen we used all the bar pulls to be 2" shorter than the door/drawer on each end. i.e. if a door is 24" tall, then the pull was 20" long.

I bought them all on ebay. inexpensive, great quality, all sizes available.

• kkupstate
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks - do you have the store name from eBay? I saw some pictures elsewhere and I can imagine that 2" shorter on each end would have the "right" look.

• talley_sue_nyc
    16 years ago

I did mine to be about 1" to 1.5" from each end.

I couldn't be exact on every drawer, and I found that it didn't matter. The slight discrepancies

Also, I like not having such a big gap between pulls; I find that my clothes are less likely to get caught on the pulls where there is a gap between them; they only get caught by the dishwasher, where there isn't any other pull. I think that small gap keeps my clothes out of the danger zone.

For the uppers, I picked a length I liked, which was about 2/3 of the way up the door (I have 42" doors). Then for the shorter cabinets, I bought shorter pulls and kept the TOP LINE of the pulls the same.