Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bblakeney

Marble Experts Please Advise

bblakeney
10 years ago

Choosing a countertop has proven to be the most difficult decision of my kitchen remodel. After much research and internal struggle, I settled on using absolute black granite, honed. I was a little nervous about this given the mixed reviews on water stains, finger prints, and such. I am a serious cook and my kitchen and counters get a real workout. Plus I have two small children who will definitely put any surface to the test.

Yesterday when I finally looked at stone, I found something I liked better than the absolute black. It was a honed marble called "Fort Stone". Most of the marbles I've seen are white with dark veins. This one was the opposite: dark grey with white veins. I've heard of Pietra Cordosa (sp?) in the gray tones, but never have heard of Fort Stone. Either has my fabricator. Also, I cannot find any mention of Fort Stone on GW or any other website for that matter.

Should I be nervous about this? Will the dark marble have the same drawbacks as the white marbles, such as etching, scratching and staining? The salesperson at the stone yard said that you only notice etching on polished surfaces, not honed. He also said they sell a very good sealer to help prevent stains -- even though the black marble will not show stains likes white marble.

I'm flying blind here - no info online to research. I really need someone with knowledge of this product who will give me accurate info. Any assistance is appreciated. Pictures attached.

Comments (13)

• PRO
    Joseph Corlett, LLC
    10 years ago

"Should I be nervous about this?"

Yes.

" Will the dark marble have the same drawbacks as the white marbles, such as etching, scratching and staining?"

Yes.

A serious cook with two small children. I can't think of a person barreling down the highway of disappointment faster than you.

There are so many other beautiful and practical choices available. Keep looking, please.