Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gwer2007

Need input - urgent!

eleena
11 years ago

I posted the question on Paints but IME it moves much slower.

So, here is the question and forgive me if it is silly. Clearly, I have no experience in such matters.

I am having a stainless steel countertop with integrated sink made by a local metal shop for my clean-up sink area.

My carpenter has built a plywood substrate. The top will be covered by metal but parts of the bottom will be over cabinets, i.e., exposed. I want to apply some protection to the bottom side before I take it to the shop tomorrow morning. That means, I have less than 24 hours and need the finish to dry by 7 am. I cannot delay because it'll negatively impact my tight schedule.

The cabinets are painted. Should I use a regular paint, "milk paint" or white-wash for underneath of the countertop?

Which of the "big box" store paints (because only Home Depot, Lowes, and Walmart are open on Sunday) is of decent quality?

Thank you!

Comments (11)

• suzanne_sl
    11 years ago

I would use a Behr paint from Home Depot just on the underside of the plywood. We like Behr, but as it happens, Consumer Reports recently recommeded Behr Premium Plus Flat Enamel. The paint will dry by tomorrow morning, but will continue to get harder for several days.

• eleena
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you!

Does it require a primer coat first?

• suzanne_sl
    11 years ago

Primer is a good idea. Fortunately, it only takes a couple of hours before you can add the color coat.

• Tim
    11 years ago

Any reason you can't paint it after the stainless is put on it? Certainly not as convenient as before - just wondering.

What are you trying to protect the plywood from exactly? A coat of paint isn't going to prevent moisture or anything like that, and frankly, it's better off for the plywood to be able to breathe / dry out if it did somehow get damp.