Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jjoleigh

URGENT!! Need backsplash help!!!

jjoleigh
10 years ago

Hi this is my first time to this forum. You all have such beautiful kitchens. They look like kitchens from home magazines!! Ok well I was installing my own backsplash and wanted to rent my townhome. The problem is I did everything wrong in installing it. Now I have big gaps next to the countertop. I wanted to completely start over. However, is there ANYTHING I can do to fix this travesty? Is there some type of trim that's inexpensive? I have already priced the amount of trim I will need and it's more expensive than the the new tile. There is a space to the right of the upper cabinet so I have to trim that as well. I have not grouted yet.

Comments (11)

• jjoleigh
    Original Author
    10 years ago

This is the new tile. I can get it at a huge discount, BUT...does this tile go with my countertop?

• jjoleigh
    Original Author
    10 years ago

This is my photoshop real quick tile job to see if it would kind of go in the space. I did it in 5 minutes so it's not lined up or anything. I could get it lined up perfectly so it looks like the exact tile, but I think you can get an overall feel...I hope :(

Does this tile look ok in this space?

• debrak2008
    10 years ago

Sounds like you are not skilled enough to put in backsplash tile. Even if you take out whats there, are you going to install the new tile? The same issues may happen again. Can you hire a pro?

The tile you are thinking of replacing it with is not expensive to begin with. Don't make decisions on price when you may be only saving a few dollars. Both tiles are busy, is that what looks best for this kitchen?

This post was edited by debrak2008 on Sat, Mar 1, 14 at 11:28

• detroit_burb
    10 years ago

you should cut slivers of the tile to fill in the gap, I think. not ideal, but better than a gap, and much better than starting again.

what you installed looks good so far, did you grout yet?