Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Is this design an improvement or prob with view from DR

Posted by alermar (My Page) on
Tue, Mar 4, 14 at 9:24

I'm deciding between these 2 designs (I think). I like Design2, but it means that the DR will have a direct view of the cleanup sink (I'm a messy cook). It seems to be a good use of the (huge) island though. Is there a way to have the option of closing off the kitchen? The problem is the open bar counter (which DH loves). Thoughts?

Design #1 (but flipping the cooktop, prep sink & stools)
 photo Scan0014_zpsff76a115.jpg

Design #2
 photo a1aa535b-20de-485c-99d4-f633409c7592_zps73b96902.jpg

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Is this design an improvement or prob with view from DR

Or perhaps I should start over and get rid of the indoor/outdoor table. Maybe divide the island in half with a walkway in between -- one for prep/cooktop and the other for clean up? Like this
 photo 524137d1-d07a-4a7a-9f5a-514e8fd3a9f9_zpse89113a5.jpg

This post was edited by alermar on Tue, Mar 4, 14 at 11:57

o

Here is a link to the original design thread:
http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/kitchbath/msg0213170520238.html

o

I think design 2 is illogical. There's something I don't like about the sink being right opposite the cooktop. So I much prefer design 1. I don't think you'll mind having that big expanse of countertop around your cooktop. It will be prep central! I also think you should move those stools from the end to actually face the cook. Because when the stools are in use they're going to crowd your breakfast bar area way too much. Or jettison the stools altogether if you already have seating at the indoor outdoor table, seating at the living room bar and seating at the dining room table. Three seating areas is probably enough.

You could also consider satisfying DH's need for a bar and your need for stools by doing some more reconfiguring and adding an indoor/outdoor bar instead of a table, near the grill somewhere: