Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kitch1_gw

Kitch remodeling help needed

kitch1
10 years ago

Hi,

I want to surround the fridge to get that boxed in look but I have two different color cabinets (upper different color than base cabinets). For the refrigerator end panel on the counter (right) side, should it match the lowers or uppers? The far left side will be against a wall, does that need an end panel as well? I'm new to this so thanks for bearing with me!

Also, any suggestions on a decent french door counter depth stainless fridge (36" wide x ~27" deep- need ~25 cubic feet of storage)? I've read countless reviews and either they are too loud or they leak water everywhere- hard pressed to find one that everyone likes and is reliable.

Also, please share any other tips or best practices as this is my first kitchen remodel. E.g., can I put the dishwasher to the left of the farmer sink? I thought I read in here that some people said not to do that.

THANKS!

Comments (10)

• PRO
    Joseph Corlett, LLC
    10 years ago

kitch1:

The last cabinet installation I did had the refrigerator panels and wall oven cabinet match the base cabinets, not the uppers that were different. It looked great.

I suggest you seek the advice of a professional kitchen designer. It's just too easy for a rookie to make a catastrophic mistake.

• kitch1
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I was leaning towards matching the bottoms. Even if I had to remove or change it later, it wouldn't be that catastrophic but I would prefer to do it correctly the first time which is why I appreciate the feedback from others who clearly have more experience than I.

• jellytoast
    10 years ago

" ... refrigerator ... hard pressed to find one that everyone likes and is reliable."

It's like trying to find a unicorn, only harder.