Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nadianyc_gw

Are Semi-Pro Style Faucets Over?

nadianyc
10 years ago

Pretty serious cook doing a completely new kitchen. Going for a very modern white and walnut kitchen. It's time to pick the faucet. As a cook I like the tall arch of the semi-pro style faucet (with the slinky-like metal around the pull-out hose) but I'm worried that the look is already outdated and screams "5 years ago." Other option is a simple Grohe Concetto. Thoughts?

Comments (35)

• eam44
    10 years ago

Yes. But that doesn't mean you shouldn't get one if you like them and have the kitchen for it. By this I mean, would your choice harmonize with the other elements you've selected? Here's my brief quiz for you. Let's see where the rest of the kitchen lies...

1.) Did you choose: A. a 48" or larger pro style range with a French top, grill or griddle, or B. a cooktop, rangetop, or induction?

2.) Did you choose: A. an exhaust fan with so much power you needed make-up air, or B. a recirculating fan, or an over-the-range microwave?

3.) Did you choose: A. a sheet of solid stainless steel behind your cooker, or B. a tile mosaic with border?

4.) Will your kitchen contain: A. open shelving, including stainless or wire shelves, or B. porcelain cats, pigs, birds, etc...

5.) Will your kitchen have: A. integrated butcher block, and wall mounted knives, or B. a knife block?

6.) Did you choose A. a stainless steel sink, or B. anything with the words "fireclay" or "farmhouse" in them?

In order to swing the pro look, you should have chosen mostly A in each of the above questions. I find it amusing when these faucets are paired with any of the "B" elements, and it is that combination, when you look at a pro-style faucet and it looks humorous, that makes them so comically dated to me.

The bottom line is that you should buy the faucet you like.