Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ksd51

granite from India

ksd51
15 years ago

The granite I am considering is from India. In general are there any quality differences in granite from one country to another? The granite is Giallo Matisse. There is another similar granite; Golden Dream which is from Brazil. Does anyone know if it makes a difference where the granite is from? They both look fine to me.

Also,is there anything I need to know regarding polish finish?

Thanks for any info you can provide ASAP

Comments (10)

• southernstitcher
    15 years ago

So glad you asked this, as I've contacted a contractor who claims they come and measure, and then order the granite from China. It comes prefabbed, ready to install for $35 sq ft. I didn't get any responses, but I was wondering the same thing.

• ccoombs1
    15 years ago

I am not a granite professional, but I'll give you my opinion on this. Unlike a product that may be manufactured using sub-quality materials, granite is a rock that is mined out of a mountain. It's just a mountain that happens to be in China, or India or Brazil or wherever. Different regions have different type of rocks. If you like the rock, I don't really think it matters what country it comes from.

Here is a link that might be useful: Granite by country of origin

• bill_vincent
    15 years ago

There are some good granites that comes out of Asia. But most of the poor quality slabs that alot of people complain about, especially with reference to absolute black, come from Asia. It's not a matter of poorer quality stone. It's a matter of lower standards for what's considered acceptable coming out of the mines.

• bill_vincent
    15 years ago

Sorry about that-- I meant quarries.

• sara_the_brit_z6_ct
    15 years ago