Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lavender_lass

Islands...all one level or raised area for seating?

lavender_lass
13 years ago

I know this has come up before, but the post on Christopher Peacock's new kitchen design has me thinking...his kitchen island has a higher level, for the seating area, with a counter height prep area that's butcher block. Is this a sign of things to come?

While large, single level islands are all the rage in the magazines...I often wonder if people really keep their kitchens looking so perfect in real life. Of course, some people may, but I don't (just being honest) LOL. I'm a messy cook, with a capital M, but I have a lot of fun cooking. However, since I'm planning to have my kitchen, open to my dining area, I'm starting to think that a raised area for the stools might hide a lot of...well, creative process, shall we say :)

While I can see that one large expanse of a beautiful material, like marble or granite, is very striking...I've also seen areas of wood and even stainless steel on a large island. Would the two tier make that easier, design wise? Would having one material for prep and another for guests, be easier with this design? Maybe marble for baking and wood for seating area...or wood for prep and quartzite for the seating area? Or stainless steel and wood...see there are a lot of options, here.

So, for all those with single level islands, how do you like them? Same question to those with more than one level...do you like them? And if you're still in the planning stages, which way are you leaning?

Comments (47)

• rhome410
    13 years ago