Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deb52899

Bleach on Granite? Marble?

Debbi Branka
12 years ago

Can you use Clorox Kleenup (or just bleach) on granite counters? How about marble counters? I have been using it on my granite about once every 10 days for a couple years and haven't had a problem, but someone just posted that you're not supposed to. I'm getting marble on my island, and I've read some places that bleach is fine, and other places say that over time it will harm the marble. Advice? Experts?

Comments (17)

• Missy Benton
    12 years ago

I know when we had our granite installed that they specifically said using bleach voided the warranty.

• breezygirl
    12 years ago

I'm new to marble (only a few months), but no way is bleach getting near it!

• Cloud Swift
    12 years ago

The FAQ for Clorox Clean-up says that it is okay for sealed granite but not to use it on marble. Perhaps that is due to other ingredients than the bleach. Might it be acidic and have a risk of etching? (I don't see any product on their site that spells Clean as "Kleen".)

Bleach shouldn't harm granite, but it might break down the sealer over time so that resealing was needed more frequently. Cbusmomof3, was your granite a type that had a warranty for something like a 15 year or lifetime sealer?

A lot of kinds of stone that aren't geologically granite are sold as "granite" so it is possible that bleach could harm one of them depending on its composition. If you have any scraps from your countertop, you could test on them.

• buffett
    12 years ago