Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
three3apples

Is this staining my marble counter?

three3apples
10 years ago

This is a seam that goes beneath my hand sprayer. The seam is caulked in white, but there is a pinkish stain that seems to be between the stone and the caulk that is seeping into my marble. At least that's how it looks. No matter what I try I cannot get the pink out. It was not like this a week or so ago and I have no knowledge of having spilled anything. I am quick to clean the counters.

Comments (35)

• three3apples
    Original Author
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Here is another photo

• three3apples
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I'm thinking that this is either that reddish bacteria that can show up in wet areas (I had this in one shower of our old house), or the unlacquered brass of our handspray and faucet somehow oxidizing and staining the marble. It really looks like the pink seeped into the cut sides of the stone. I used a counter cleaner and an antibacterial soap, nothing removed the pink. I now have Dupont oil stain remover on it and will wipe that off when it dries in a day or two.

The fabricator is coming out to redo two seams soon. I'm wondering, in addition to what is going on with this discoloration, how people keep dirt from getting between the "caulk" in marble seams and the stone itself. It seems like there is a small opening around the edges of these caulk/epoxy seams that dirt and stains can find their way into. We can't just make the seam wider all the time to eliminate the stain and then keep recaulking.

• romy718
    10 years ago

Is this the same seam that you recently had redone?
    Edit: correction

This post was edited by romy718 on Tue, Feb 25, 14 at 1:42

• PRO
    Joseph Corlett, LLC
    10 years ago

I'm betting that's a rust bleed.

I can't imagine "caulking" a stone seam.

• three3apples
    Original Author
    10 years ago