Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sparky16_gw

Mother of pearl tile backsplash

sparky16
11 years ago

Hello there...it's my first time posting. My husband and I are going to be tiling our backsplash ourselves. We have a beautiful white mother of pearl tile. What should we use to adhere it to our walls? Most sites I've looked at just say to use a modified thinset, but my husband's concern is that the tile is sooooo thin. How do you keep the thinset from squeezing out between the tiles? Do you just use a really small trowel? Any help or experiences would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!!

Comments (55)

• wi-sailorgirl
    11 years ago

We're doing a very thin MOP 1x1 mosiac tile as well, but we're having our regular tile guy install it. I showed it to him to make sure the thickness wouldn't be a problem and he said it would be fine, but I know he said that we definitely have to use a white thinset, so that's all I can be helpful with. Please do show pictures though.

This post was edited by wi-sailorgirl on Thu, Feb 7, 13 at 12:12

• sparky16
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Sanjuangirl...thanks for the pics. I'll try to upload some of ours once we're done.

Luckymom...thanks for the info on the thinset, I'll look into it. We haven't decided on a grout color yet. I do remember reading (on here?) that someone said the same thing about the white grout 'washing out' the tile. I think they tinted some grout and regrouted it. I definitely don't want to grout twice, so I'll keep that in mind and choose carefully ;)
    Let me know what you go with.

Thanks all for the help and info...I'll keep you 'posted' on progress.

• pharaoh
    11 years ago

Best is to avoid grout!

You can get groutless tiles. With MoP this looks really nice. You dont get the squeeze out and the nastiness of grout later on.

Here is a link that might be useful: MoP

• Mizinformation
    11 years ago