Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
take a peek at my "soft modern" small kitchen design?

Posted by feisty68 (My Page) on
Sat, Feb 22, 14 at 16:59

Hello folks,

This is my first time designing or renovating a kitchen. I'm in a time crunch now and I'm getting nervous about making a final decision about layout! IkeaFans helped me a lot with the design, but I'd love some non-IKEA-centric eyes on this :) . Any input would be most appreciated!

The kitchen is open concept, facing a dining/living area with a mountain view. The entrance door to our condo is beside the kitchen.

my mission statement:

I would love my kitchen to be functional for preparing daily scratch meals, with easy-to-clean, hard-wearing surfaces. I want to be social with my family while I am working in the kitchen, and to encourage more kitchen participation from my children. I want my kitchen to look softly modern, full of light, with minimal visual clutter. I want my kitchen to feel like an open and welcoming entrance to our flat and I want it to be completely integrated into the attached dining/living area and not scream "kitchen area". In this casual space I want to highlight artwork, people, and decorative items rather than walls/appliances/surfaces.

design so far:

IKEA kitchen planner link

view from living/dining area:

this is my mood board:
we are using existing appliances and planning custom doors and panels

If anyone knows how to achieve this look with solid maple cabinet fronts I would love to know more!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: take a peek at my "soft modern" small kitchen design?

Pics don't work for me...

o

feisty, couldn`t get any of your pictures to open.

o

Huh. The planner link doesn't work for me (on iPad, so obviously not), but the screenshots and mood board and the grey cabinets all work fine. Very nice choices.

o

"that look" ... the grey wood? It's going to take a chemical reaction, not a stain. And some experiments.