Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jenniferhopper

cabinet paint quality

We are looking at white shaker lower mid-range full overlay cabinets (Schuler/Medallion, Thomasville, Kraftmaid) and well as custom all with plywood boxes and furniture ends.

Is the a difference between manufactures in their paint quality and techniques?

I have heard conflicting information on all wood shaker door versus MDF/veneer doors as far as which look better painted. Any feedback or advise would be appreciated!

Comments (9)

• sweet_tea_
    10 years ago

I'm not an expert, but I do plan on having painted cabinets, although not shaker door, mine will be custom site built cabinets. At first I priced all wood doors, but my cabinet guy told me if I was positive I wanted to paint them that the MDF doors would paint out much better than solid wood. I don't see why he would be dishonest about that, the wood bid was more, which would have been more money for him. I'm going with MDF.

• CEFreeman
    10 years ago

MDF has no grain to possibly show through.

If your maker lets you pick paint, I strongly suggest using BM's Cabinet Coat brand. They've recently purchased this brand and it is fantastic. It's specifically made for woodwork and trim, and dries hard as an absolute rock.

Having painted and repainted my cabinets a couple times, I can tell you this stuff is tough.

That's all I have to offer.

• live_wire_oak
    10 years ago

A factory finish uses catalyzed opaque varnish, not paint. It's much much tougher. MDF or furniture board is more stable with the swings of normal humidity. You will still get "beauty marks" telegraphing the join between the stiles and rails, but not between the panels. I've got a couple of pics I'll upload about what real wood does in winter. Let me find them.

• CEFreeman
    10 years ago

LWO. I wasn't thinking. Of course, catalyzed varnish.

When someone site builds, how do they do that?

• live_wire_oak
    10 years ago