Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oldryder

what a good edge looks like

These are some pics of nicely finished edges:

Below is a laminated edge with an almost invisible hairline at the joint between the top and the laminate piece.

Below is a mitered apron. Note the absence of a discernable line at the joint at the top AND the corner.

The following is a "waterfall" edge. The stone is "Fusion". Note the top 90 degree angle has been slightly rounded by hand to significantly reduce the potential for chipping.

This is a triple laminate rock pitched limestone. Rock pitching thru a lamination often doesn't work because the cleavage plan of the chisel often leaves "ledges" at the lamination joint. We tell our customers we will "give it a try" if thats what they want but that they also must select an alternate edge profile if the stone and/or the laminations don't allow rock pitching. (I have a shop guy with 20 years experience doing rock pitching so if it can be done we can do it.)

Comments (25)

• eam44
    10 years ago

thats artistry.

• jellytoast
    10 years ago

Thank you, oldryder. I think people take for granted that these are the kinds of edges they are going to get, but sadly that isn't always the case (as BlackChamois' recent thread unfortunately proves). I guess the lesson is to examine your countertops carefully when they arrive and before they are installed ...?

• Mags438
    10 years ago

Thanks for sharing; loved the lesson and quality work.

• SDgirlygirl
    10 years ago

Thanks for posting Oldryder, these edges are flawless.

May I please ask a fabrication question? Is it inadvisable to do a laminate edge on a carrara marble slab?