Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Please Help With 1st Floor Layout

Posted by jimson11 (My Page) on
Fri, Feb 8, 13 at 11:58

Should I keep the original idea of this layout or the one in my message below with the island?

photo 4ac552a5-eb4d-4a4c-9d03-a3683140ad49.jpg

FridgeWallResized photo 6edf374f-4050-4782-aa08-7edd1c32b59f.jpg

photo 2838888f-4a0f-451d-8ef8-e392e274060d.jpg

This post was edited by jimson11 on Mon, Feb 18, 13 at 11:57

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Please Help With 1st Floor Layout

I don't have any feedback because I'm a newbie, too, but I just wanted to hop in to say I'm interested in this thread because we, too, are doing pretty much a gut job on an old house and I probably will be posting something similar soon.

o

Just to start things off-- the sink location traps you in the corner when you try to load the dishwasher.

o

Okay, maybe I do have something to say, now that dan has started it off and got me thinking. I have the same corner layout in my current kitchen, with corner sink next to dishwasher to the left. I can vouch that you do get "trapped." This layout has also resulted in our under sink cabinet getting super beat-up from when the under sink cabs and dishwasher are open at the same time if a person is reaching to get something from under there, like dishwasher soap.

o

Here is a version I came up with that includes a 24" x 60" island. I've read as many things as I could about how people like/dislike their 24" wide islands and it's pretty much positive across the board. Also I tried to leave at least 42" clearance around. I like how the sink-dishwasher-oven-fridge areas interact but I'm no expert. Can a sink and dishwasher fit in that space? Is this doable??

photo kitchen_layout_with_island.jpg

This post was edited by jimson11 on Sun, Feb 17, 13 at 16:11

o

Sorry to bump my own thread but I have to make my cabinet order soon.

2' x 6' island that can possibly fit a sink and DW...yay or nay??

Thanks!