Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New Granite Install - Backsplash Seam

Posted by teal123 (My Page) on
Tue, Feb 4, 14 at 11:23

Hi everyone, We just had our granite installed yesterday. I am happy with all of it except one place where two pieces come together on the backsplash. It is in a corner that is very visible. It looks like they tried to match the backsplash with the counter below, but the two backsplash pieces don't match each other. Does anyone know if a piece or two of backsplash can be removed and replaced now that it is in? Also, do you think I should ask them to replace it, or just live with it? Any advice is greatly appreciated - Thanks so much!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New Granite Install - Backsplash Seam

Here is another picture so you can see it from a distance.

o

Here is another picture so you can see it from a distance.

o

It's natural stone. I think it looks fine. I'd let it be

o

I'm not an expert just a homeowner but i think it looks great. I wouldn't mess with it. Especially with all the problems you see with seams, if your seems are good and tight I would be afraid to mess around with a reinstall.

o

It looks fine. You'll never notice it once you've lived with it for a while. If you want it redone....it should be at your expense. The fabricators did a really nice job. I would not expect them to re-do this at no charge.

o

It's not the best, but its ok. I would probably just put something in that corner so it won't be noticeable.

o

Was there a better piece left on the slab? I wouldn't be happy with just that one dark piece, but if you didn't attend the template layout and just let them cut how they wanted to, you can't really complain. You'll have to ask them if it can be replaced at your cost.

o

The abrupt change in color would bother me too. All you can do is ask what they can do about it. You'll never know if they could have done better.