Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
powergirl_gw

Kitchen layout, What do you think?

powergirl
11 years ago

Hi All,

We are trying to save money and design the kitchen our selves. We are knocking down walls and adding new space onto our kitchen. The island will be aprox. 9' X 4.5' with a sink and dishwasher in it. This will allow for seating for 4. We will have a 30" double electric wall oven, 36" gas cooktop. We are a little stumped about what to put on the backside of the island. Doors with handles, no handles, end panels for a clean look and make it dead space?? Tell me what you think. Thanks

Comments (8)

• angel411
    11 years ago

I'm no expert, but I would think with the sink and DW in the island, you should have room on the backside for some cabinet space. I would not put handles though if people are going to be sitting there. I applaud you for trying to design it yourself...you are in the right place for layout help. Hopefully our wonderful layout gurus will chime in!

• kam76
    11 years ago

I am no designer but I think they want actual measurements on the drawings? To be sure your walkways are the right width etc. I agree, no handles on the back but I would definitely take advantage of the space for storage, store things you don't use every day there. No handles like angel said so people don't bump their knees. Might want to consider some open shelving on the one side of your island for cookbooks or a wine rack. That is what we have on ours and I love it. Also I don't know what type of cabinets you are choosing but you might consider some with glass fronts to "lighten up" the look a little. Do you have natural light coming in from anywhere?

• powergirl
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks Angel! kam76: Good point, I am attaching a layout with more information. I was considering glass front cabinets for the wall by the cooktop. I just have to make sure I have enough storage space to do that.

• live_wire_oak
    11 years ago