Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bblakeney

Help! Need feedback on KOBE range hood

bblakeney
10 years ago

Hello! I'm looking at buying a KOBE range hood. The model I'm looking at is the:CH9136SQB-1 (36"). It's an under cabinet hood - 36", and can be viewed at this link:http://www.koberangehoods.com/product/CH-191SQB-1.html
I had never heard of KOBE before GW, but fell in love with the design. The features I'm attracted to: LED lights instead of halogens; dishwasher safe baffles instead of the mesh plates; low noise; a delayed shutoff setting; and the beautiful style!

I am a serious cook and my stove gets heavy use. My primary questions to those of you who have owned a KOBE are:
1) How well does it ventilate?
2) Any quality issues with the product (motors, buttons, etc.)?
3) Are the LED lights bright enough?
4) Easy to clean?
5) Is it reasonably quiet?
6) How long have you owned your KOBE?

Thank you so much in advance for your feedback!!!

Comments (12)

• kksmama
    10 years ago

I've only had mine a few months and am not entirely pleased (mine is an insert in a wood cabinet hood). The lights stopped working all at once, the service guy has been out twice and is now waiting on back ordered parts to fix it. It is reasonably quiet and effective in venting, and looks nice, and I do like the delayed shutoff.

• itsallaboutthefood
    10 years ago

We've had our Kobe chimney hood for about 3 years. It works great and is very quiet and we've not had any problems with it.

• Specific ibex
    10 years ago

We have had Kobe CH2230SQB for a little over a year now. 30" 720CFM. Exhaust goes straight back through the wall outside.

It ventilates very very well. We use high speed occasionally - cooking huge pots at high boil (canning, beer brewing, multiple steaming pots), stir-frying, searing things, and when the ovens below (it's over our range with 2 ovens) have something smoky or steamy in them. Mostly just Quiet or the low speed for regular cooking though.