Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sloretto_gw

where to start..kitchen designer? Architect?

sloretto
10 years ago

Hello-My wife and I are starting to explore options for a complete kitchen renovation. We will have to do quite a bit of re-configuring based on our desire to open the kitchen up. May also require the relocation of our basement access staircase, as well as raising the ceiling height. bottom line it's not as simple as just keeping our current configuration and replacing cabinets, appliances and counters. my question is how do we start? should we start with an architect or are there specific kitchen designers that know enough about construction to advise on the structural changes? Can a contractor do it all? any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks

Comments (13)

• Vertise
    10 years ago

Reconstructing the house, I would hire an architect who will have a structural engineer on board. No way would I rely on a self taught building contractor.

• debrak2008
    10 years ago

As far as the kitchen...I would get a separate kitchen designer or just get help here. Then go back to the architect and let them incorporate your kitchen plan.

• PRO
    Joseph Corlett, LLC
    10 years ago

Start with a reputable KD. I was just in a kitchen designed by an architect and damn near threw up. Horrible.

You don't tell your lawyer who to cross-examine. You don't tell your dentist how you want your tooth filled. Give your KD some ideas of your tastes and budget and then do as you're told. If she wants/needs an archy or engineer, I'm sure she'll let you know.

• jakuvall
    10 years ago

There are architects who do kitchens well but not typically, there are KDS who can and will work on the architecture but certainly not the norm. If there is major structural work someone certified has to sign off on it, either engineer or architect.

You will only know by talking with them.

• Vertise
    10 years ago