Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carriebor

Layout - for Review

Carrie B
10 years ago

Hi,

Here's the overall deal w/ me & my kitchen:

-Live alone, 48, don't cook much (but use micro)

-Plan to stay in house for as long as I can - probably until I can no longer make it up my steep steps (unless the man of my dreams FINALLY shows up & sweeps me off my feet & takes me away from all of this.)

-Small (total footprint: 12' x 25') rowhome - kitchen area is 8x12. There's an adjoining house on the fridge side - a side lot garden on the other, plus a small backyard.

-I garden for a living & for love - garden access & view are paramount. Want easy access to sink from door (walk in from garden some 27 times a day in-season, and wash hands @ sink, and also a drawer convenient to door for garden gloves & pruners - things that will go in & out with me.

I'm not technologically savvy, and my use of the IKEA Home Planner is iffy at best. I'll include some explanatory info:

Basic first floor layout w/ proposed kitchen: Along the left hand side, I have a few objects for explanation. Going back, the first big "box" is actually the stairwell going up. I didn't know how to draw in stairs, but it gives a sense of how much the steps jut into the house.

The second "box" is the basement landing. Third is the fridge.

The front door (not shown) is in the bottom right corner, and the big blank area in the drawing is my living room.

Here you can see the proposed new window & door. I'd like to be able to look outside while dining. Here, you can see the basement steps & landing on the left.