Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bavuso

Custom table for banquette

bavuso
11 years ago

I am new to GW. In the process of researching ideas for a built in banquette, it seemed all the best ideas came from this site! So many thanks to everyone who has unknowingly helped me with this! Now my U-shaped banquette is being built and I will probably need a custom table to go with it because my dimensions are very exact. So my question is: Are there any favorite table top materials out there (other than wood)? I'm looking for something pretty much indestructible. My 5 growing boys have already pretty much destroyed our current wood kitchen table. I have been researching quartz (too heavy?) and corian (not sure about the look) for a 48x48 sized table. Our countertops are granite so I'm also worried about the kitchen becoming too 'cold' with all the stone surfaces. Any favorite table tops out there??

Comments (14)

• Jfay
    11 years ago

I think corian is a good option actually. You could warm it up by having it made with a wood border around it. If there was any stained wood in your kitchen that could tie it in.

• bcafe
    11 years ago

I have searched and searched for a decent 48" square pedestal table for our banquette. DH does not want to spend the money on an expensive hand made table right now, nor can I blame him. We have 6 children and our solution--I think-- is to get a restaurant pedestal table. The tops are quite indestructable and overall they are quite a bit less money. I have found they can be ordered in quite a few color/wood combinations.

• bavuso
    Original Author
    11 years ago