Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mommy22qtz

Full overlay kitchen cabinets hinge swing

mommy22qtz
10 years ago

Hi all I am brand new to GW and would love some input. I am in the process of a full kitchen Reno and have decided to go with custom cabinets. I have my heart set on full overlay shaker but the cabinet company says there is a restricted swing to the doors if I choose this style ( which my dh is not ok with) could you please let me know if full overlay framed cabinets can have a hinge with full swing?? Thank you so much!!

Comments (15)

• ajc71
    10 years ago

Not sure I am following by full swing, if you are doing frameless you can go up to a 170 degree hinge...but I have found the standard to be 120 degree

The only reason you would have to go less then that is if you are using a thick door (1"+) then you are restricted to 95 degrees due to the thick door hinge that will be required

• live_wire_oak
    10 years ago

120ð should be sufficient for accessing any cabinet except a corner bifold that uses a 170ð. It opens enough that the door (or the hardware) will bang the wall and damage it if it's in a 90ð corner, even if you put in a 3" filler. If you are looking to do something like an entertainment cabinet, that gets specialty hinges, but you don't need them on all of your kitchen cabinets.

I think some clarification is needed to better answer the question.

• suzanne_sl
    10 years ago

But the OP's question was about the hinge for full overlay on a framed cabinet.

• debrak2008
    10 years ago

I have full overlay shaker framed cabinets. Based on the photo above my doors open slightly less than that. No issues at all with access to the cabinets.

• CEFreeman
    10 years ago