Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
colickyboy

soapstone dealer(s) in chicago area?

colickyboy
14 years ago

was not originally interested in soapstone until i started learning more about it in this forum. but i don't live near florida (to buy from florida josh) and a cursory googling of soapstone dealers in chicago came up fairly empty.

my other consideration is a dark honed granite.

does anyone know of any good, reputable soapstone dealers & fabricators in the chicago area?

Comments (12)

• kathyski
    14 years ago

Have you tried Daltile? We did a renovation through Airoom and that is where we purchased our granite. They have a huge selection.

• colickyboy
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks, kathyski. Do they also do soapstone?

• friedajune
    14 years ago

I do not have direct experience with this soapstone fabricator (I wanted granite for my kitchen), but the name has come up several times on this forum, so I thought I'd mention it, since you haven't gotten much responses. It's Humming Bird Soapstone in Glen Ellyn, IL. As I said, I don't have direct knowledge, but it may be worth a phone call or visit.

Here is a link that might be useful: Humming Bird Soapstone

• colickyboy
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Appreciate the info on Humming Bird. Will check them out....thanks!

If anyone else knows any other recommendations, I'd be grateful.

• uafly1
    14 years ago

I used Humming Bird and was very happy working with them.
    But I got quotes from Praire Plus in Oak Park and Rock Tops in Crete. Corna Kitchen in Elmwood Park is another one. There is also a supplier on Lake St., Terrazo that can put you in touch with some fabricators.

• colickyboy
    Original Author
    14 years ago

That's a lot of good leads, uafly1...thanks! Why did you choose Humming Bird over the others? Price? Service? Slab selection?

Also, anyone have any experience with the soapstone from Damar in Northbrook?

• basianov
    14 years ago