Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
isixpacku

Kitchen layout help please!

isixpacku
10 years ago

Hi everyone. I have been lurking for a couple of weeks on the kitchen forum after making may way here from lurking on the appliance forum. I have seen how helpful you all are, and I would love some feedback on three layouts we received from our KD.

To give you some background, we are a family of six (4 kids - 17, 5, 2.5, 8 months), and we moved into this house this summer. I cook 6-7 nights a week. I am a good cook, and I enjoy cooking when I don't have kids crying while I am cooking dinner, which seems to be rare the past several years since right before dinner time is the witching hour. ;-)

The kitchen in this house has a terrible layout - the refrigerator opens into the island, the wall ovens open into the island and you have to stand to the side of the oven to put things in and take things out of the oven, the dishwasher opens into the island, and we are constantly walking circles around the island to get where we need to go when we are working in the kitchen. It seems like there is alway something or someone blocking a walk path. I also despise the granite color, the electric cooktop with recirculating hood that is 22" off the cooktop, and the cabinet color isn't my favorite. We had planned on just living with the kitchen the way it is for 10 years or so until we were ready to remodel.

However, right before Christmas my husband won a $10,000 gift certificate to a local appliance place through a contest. My husband thought it was joke when he got he phone call, but it wasn't! In the past month I have been feverishly looking into appliances and our installation options. We have to make appliance decisions by the end of January or we forfeit the value of the certificate. Talk about pressure.