Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dfstrasser

Initial kitchen plan

dfstrasser
9 years ago

We are in the planning stage for out build and have gotten the first revision of the floor plan. We are a family of four with daughters 10 and 12. My wife and I both cook and the girls help out as well. We are looking for function more than anything else.

We are thinking about changing this completely and just having a large island(4X10 running north/south) which would house the sink. The oven/stove(36") would go on the west wall and the refrigerator on the south wall.

Does anyone have input/comments they would care to share? Any help is appreciated.

Comments (10)

• crl_
    9 years ago

I'm no layout expert, so take this with a grain of salt. A couple of things I see.

One is that I think it is usually easiest to properly vent a range on an outside wall (although I think that if this is a single story build, you can pretty much ignore that as going through the ceiling and attic and out the roof should be fine.) I can't tell for sure if that's an open counter from the range across into the great room? If so, I'd rather not have a range where kids could slide their homework, etc. over into the cooktop. I'd much rather have a prep area facing the great room and the range over on an exterior wall.

The second is that I can't tell where the refrigerator is in the plan you posted above, but I think it must be a long walk from the great room for anyone to get a drink? I generally prefer to keep that kind of foot traffic out of my kitchen.

I also can't tell how the kitchen is connected to the exterior, either for grilling and eating outside if you do that or for getting groceries into the house.

Is that big space in the corner a pantry?