Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kelvance_gw

any info on wood countertops? help please :)

kelvance
12 years ago

Hi, this is my first post altough I have been browsing for sometime now. My husband and are are in the planning stages of our new home, and i am trying to decide on countertops. I absolutely love the look of wood countertops, but I need some help on the care and finish of these, I am an avid baker so my counters will be used all the time ( rolling out dough, etc.) I dont plan to actually chop food on them but will be having food on them daily. What would you guys recommend for a finish? thanks

Comments (20)

• oldhousegal
    12 years ago

In a previous home I had maple butcher block countertops. I oiled them (mineral oil) once a year and used them to roll dough, chop- basically abused them. I never worried about them, even around the sink.

In my recent remodel of my old house, I replaced a laminate island with walnut edge style butcher block from Craft-Art. It is lovely! I followed another GW'ers post about caring for the top, since I plan on using it as a cutting board, to roll dough, and basically, once again, to abuse it! I made my own mix of beeswax and mineral oil that I heated on the stove, just as petestein1 described, and it came out as a semi hard paste that I poured into a wide mouthed canning jar. I just reach in and grab a small handful and rub it all over the counter, then use a rag to rub it in further. It holds up great and feels like silk. I've only had the countertop in for a few weeks, so I can't talk about the longevity of it, but I sure think it's pretty easy.

Others here tend to use waterlox, but I try to reduce the amount of chemicals in my house, and I wanted to cut on it, so that was not an option. Here's that old post I was talking about. HTH!

Here is a link that might be useful: walnut butcherblock used as cutting board

• nini804
    12 years ago