Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
theresse_gw

Has ANYONE heard of 2x6 marble subway tile? (field tile)

theresse
14 years ago

I've googled and googled and can't find anyone. I'm sure having larger pieces cut to size (or slab or whatever) would cost far too much but I have had my heart set on 2x6 tile just because it's not only different from most which are 3x6, but because this 1913 house originally had 2x6 subway tile in it (I know the old woman who was raised here).

Anyone?

Thanks! :)

Comments (9)

• wolfgang80
    14 years ago

I linked a place that carries it.
    I have no experience with them; I just happened onto their website last week and remembered their choices of 2x6 or 3x6.

Here is a link that might be useful: 2x6 Subway Tile

• worldmom
    14 years ago

I think Wolfgang's link is actually ceramic tile. :o)

I found this post from November in which evilbunnie said she had installed 2x6 *marble* subway tiles. Perhaps you can shoot her an email or post here to get her attention and ask her about it. Hers is the first response to the original post.

Here is a link that might be useful: Evilbunnie writes of 2x6 marble subway tile

• shmoop
    14 years ago

Waterworks makes it too (that version has a rounded edge, whereas the subways wolfgang mentions have a flat one, I think)

• histokitch
    14 years ago

It depends how machine-look you want, but I am getting some that are 5 3/4" x 2". They are from Mosaic House in New York. I have attached a photo from my inspiration picture (the designer Michael S Smith's kitchen in LA).

Here is a link that might be useful: Michael S Smith's kitchen

• amberley
    14 years ago

histokitch- that is one of two favorite inspiration kitchens! If we could only all have a barrel-vaulted ceiling...

• theresse
    Original Author
    14 years ago