Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kelly_ryan4352043

Dishwasher with cabinet front?

Kitchen_ Reno
10 years ago

I'm new to GW - I've been reading and reading as we embark on our kitchen/dining room renovation. Our space is small. The layout we've finalized has our oven and dishwasher right next to each other. There really were no other good options. I decided that one way to make this look good, not just "ok", is to have a cabinet panel on the dishwasher. I have not yet gone appliance shopping but am searching online and having a hard time figuring out which models I can do this with. What is the best way to search? Or what do you recommend for this type of DW? We have ordered white inset cabinets, if that matters. From my reading here, I've learned that I probably want a European DW since they are a little less deep than others. But how do I tell what can have a panel added?

also, my GC has never installed a panel on a DW. Is this something I should try to hire out to someone else? obviously I want it to look good - don't need "practiciing" on my kitchen if this is something difficult to do.

thanks in advance!

Comments (18)

• meek95
    10 years ago

The type of dishwasher you want is called "panel ready". If you search the AJ Madison website, you can pull up dishwashers that offer this feature. We have a Bosch model, our cabinet maker made the panel, our GC installed it (not difficult, there is a template and instructions). You have to buy a handle for it. There are a lot of threads that discuss the size people have used. We bought a 6" appliance pull for ours.

• sjhockeyfan325
    10 years ago