Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
teched_gw

Anyone use Quartzite Counters?

teched
16 years ago

So, been stone shopping today with poor DH who broke his foot over the holidays and is on crutches. We were overall disappointed in what we saw in granites, but we saw two Quartzites that we loved. Has anyone used quartzite? I am a geologist, and I know it is metamorphosed sandstone, but I don't know how it holds up in the kitchen. The ones we love are Rainforest Brown and Forest Green. Would love to see pictures of these installed and hear how they hold up.

Comments (46)

• oruboris
    16 years ago

I have some beautiful quarzite floor tile samples, but haven't seen it [at least, not recognized it] while shopping for counters.

As a geologist, perhaps you could educate the rest of us as to how porous and scratch resistant it might be...

• teched
    Original Author
    16 years ago

It shouldn't be porous, and it is made of all quartz, not quartz and feldspar like granite. Technically, it should be as hard/scratch resistant or more so than granite. But, the ones I am looking at have these cool veins in them. I have no idea what they are made of.

• fisheggs
    16 years ago

Rainforest brown isn't quartzite- it's more of a serpentine, or at least most of the ones that I've seen labled that way are. Most pure quartzites would be very porous and would probably perform poorly as countertops.

• brooksideiris
    16 years ago

Those beautiful blues from Brazil are quartzites--azul du mar, azul macubas, imperial blue. Several people on this forum have used them on their counters and are, I believe, very happy with those stones (organicdonna comes immediately to mind). Also a number of people are using white quartzites. I absolutely love them and am considering using a quartzite myself.