Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
boymom23

Anyone here NOT choosing Shaker cabinets?

boymom23
11 years ago

I'm new to shaker cabinets. I've always had a cherry kitchen, and raised panel doors. Now that I'm doing a white kitchen in our new build, it seems like all the pictures I like have Shaker style cabinets. However, I don't think they're for me. They feel more modern (or something?) for me, but they seem to be all the rage. Are they trendy or timeless? I've just been unaware of that style until now.

Comments (43)

• cathy725
    11 years ago

Me! Although I like them in other people's kitchens, they just aren't my style. I'm also not doing white cabinets. I just don't want a white kitchen (again, love to look at other people's white kitchens). I like the warm feel of cherry cabinets, and that's what I'm getting in a very traditional door style.

Also, I have a colonial style house, and I think it's more keeping with the style of the rest of the house to do a more traditional look.

As others have said, it's your kitchen so do what makes you happy!

• mtnrdredux_gw
    11 years ago

I have Shaker cabs, and I really like them. I am still drawn to them in magazines, etc.

But I do think they are trendy. They have become just so common, and are at every price point, and to me that means they are headed toward over-done.

But if I had to do it today I would still pick them.

• debrak_2008
    11 years ago

Shaker style is the only one for me. I have loved them since I was a kid. I don't care if they are trendy right now or not.

Pick a style you love and that works with your kitchen and home. Where are you looking for photos? Houzz tends to be very modern.

• CEFreeman
    11 years ago

I love their clean lines.
    In my MB I'm doing Shaker and Cottage.
    In my MBR, I'm doing Mission (which look like thick Shaker).

However, in my not-white kitchen, I probably won't. I keep being drawn to them, though. But I'm fighting it.