Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
katy_lou_gw

Stone experts - chip in soapstone edge how to fix?

katy-lou
10 years ago

So looks like the edge of the countertop got hit yesterday (I'm guessing accidentally with a level or shelf that was being carried in yesterday by the cabinet maker) there is about a 1/4" divot missing now. What is the best way to fix this? We do have a remnant of the stone they left us. We're pretty handy as is obviously the cabinet maker, just would like to go about it correctly. Thanks for any assistance you can provide!

Comments (13)

• katy-lou
    Original Author
    10 years ago

The damage in question

• jerzeegirl
    10 years ago

I am not an expert but when I was considering soapstone I was worried about this possibility so I researched it.

First of all, do you have the piece that chipped off? If so, you can try to epoxy it back on and then sand the area in question.

If not.....There is a video which I saw on line a few years ago which shows step by step the process of making a slurry of soapstone dust and epoxy which is then used to fill the chip. After the chip is filled the area is sanded smooth. I looked but can't find the video. Maybe someone here has it saved?

It doesn't look like your chip would be too difficult to fix.

• PRO
    Granite City Services
    10 years ago

I am a fabricator.

my 1st suggestion would be to ask your countetop guy to stop by when in the area and fix it for you. most shops I know will do this free of charge as long as you will let them do it when in the area.

next choice is to glue the chip back into place if you have it. crazy glue would work fine.

next choice is to fill the chip with colored epoxy and then finish it out with fine grit sandpaper.

• PRO
    Joseph Corlett, LLC
    10 years ago

katy-lou:

Take a stab at the epoxy/chip, but if you're not satisfied, simply reprofile the edge. I'll bet a 1/2" round over will erase the chip, make others much more unlikely, and it's a permanent fix.