Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
varar

Help with kitchen cabinet and appliance layout

VaraR
10 years ago

Hello folks,

I've been reading these amazing forums for a few years; just signed up today. Thanks everyone, for your generous, thoughtful responses here ... I hope to do the same once I finish my project.

We are in the middle of a new home build on a sloping lot with amazing views to the North and East. Framing has started. In the floorplans I post, note that all the large spans of windows and doors are towards these views, and exterior walls are committed (foundation in place), while limited adjustments are possible in interior layout.

I am a good cook, preparing roughly 80% of my meals from my repertoire, and 20% from new recipes. (The ratio changes when I'm not distracted by large projects as I am now.)

The family is vegetarian. I don't use an oven for cooking meals; it's used only for baking sweets with my kids or for warming samosas, etc. during large parties.

On weekdays, I cook a simple hot breakfast for the family and pack hot lunches for my two kids (11 and 8), either by reheating leftovers or previously frozen meals. I cook 4-5 dinners per week, eating out or getting takeout the other nights. My husband cooks breakfasts on the weekend, or we head out sometimes. Our meals are mostly Indian, and I cook some Italian, Mexican, Thai, Japanese and Chinese meals. (All fairly spicy and smelly, er, fragrant.) I like to cook when I am alone at home, so that I just reheat food, do quick prep, assembly and serve at mealtime.

So, I'm planning for a 30" cooktop in the open kitchen (breakfast, dinner time warm ups, making dosas - think crepes, making chai when friends drop in). My main 36" range will be in the closed Kitchen 2 (using my pressure cooker, blender, cooking full, messy meals when I'm alone). Kitchen 2 will also serve as a butler's pantry during parties.