Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
barlowmom_gw

Best Countertop for Messy People

barlowmom
10 years ago

What is the best countertop material for those of us who are not tidy?

Despite my best efforts, I'm a messy cook. I have small children who like to "help." It is not unusual for spaghetti sauce, drops of soapy water, or juice to sit on my countertop overnight.

Nor do I do monthly or quarterly maintenance. Even if I put handy e-reminders into my calendar and email myself, I won't be oiling countertops.

I currently have laminate and have managed to stain that this past week with Gatorade. Prior homes have had tile (grout, ugh) and wood (stained that too).

Any suggestions? I'm considering serpentine, slate, and walnut butcherblock because at least I could fix that if I stain it.

I don't particularly like granite.

Comments (50)

• debrak2008
    10 years ago

You said you don't like granite but our granite works well for our messy family. It is white diamond aka bianco antico and is sealed. I find dried on spills everyday, coffee, juice, sauce, honey, some who know what this is stuff. It all just wipes off or will with a little scrapping (honey is like glue).

• suzanne_sl
    10 years ago

On your Gatorade - I had inexpensive white laminate for 37 years and everything came out with common household sprays like 409, Simple Green, or Clorox. You might have to let it sit for 5 min., but my stains always came out.

• barlowmom
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks suzannesl - we're ripping it out in 2 months for our total renovation, so I'll try the 409 but fortunately it's not the end of the world if it doesn't work.

Learned a lesson, though!

debrak, do you ever seal your granite? I thought that you are supposed to seal it annually.

• debrak2008
    10 years ago