Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_343451

Do you have soapstone AND forgetful children?

User
14 years ago

Here is my new thing I came up with to help my son remember what he needs to do before school...I write his list right on the counter where he eats breakfast so he can't miss it.

Comments (24)

• cotehele
    14 years ago

Creative use of soapstone. In my house, that list would be for me. Ha

• jannie
    14 years ago

Cool!

• rjr220
    14 years ago

I'm stealing that idea, too.

What type of soapstone is that?

• megradek
    14 years ago

LOL! I opened this thread thinking it was going to be some sort of accident/mishap that your child caused.

what a great idea to attract a child's attention to the daily list - that's always the first battle to helping memory (I'm a psychologist that works with kids and learning difficulties, so I know all too well!).

• deegw
    14 years ago

It's adorable but I'm afraid in my house it would be an open invitation for anyone to write anything on the counters! I could see "Dad made this mess" with a big arrow. Or, "Kat didn't finish the dishes", etc. I already can't stop my kids from adding to my paper notes on the kitchen counters. I often see "pony" on my shopping list.

• prill
    14 years ago

What a great idea - who would have thought! I guess you did.

• natashak
    14 years ago

That is brilliant! I'm totally using it for my kids too!

• rjr220
    14 years ago

I have another idea: at my buffet's I usually have a card/holder with the name of the dish on it -- with the soapstone I could just write what it is next to it on the counter!

• drybean
    14 years ago

Love it!!

• gillylily
    14 years ago

So creative, I don't know much about soapstone (it was a bit above my budget so I never even looked into it), but i never knew you could use chalk on it! I may need to figure out a similar way with my granite.. hmmm....

• User
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Hi everyone.