Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
beachcomber000

What to do about quartzite counter

Beachcomber000
10 years ago

I'm just wonder what you guys might think or do about this. We're just finishing up a kitchen remodel. Our quartzite counters were recently installed. We think our counters are beautiful, and are happy with our choice of quartzite - Taj Mahal. The problem is that there is a place on the counter where two pieces meet that are different colors. It's not as obvious in bright daylight, but if the kitchen lights are on, this is what we see.

This picture was taken with my iPhone (didn't see how to upload more than one), and I'm hoping for some opinions here.

Thank you!

Comments (11)

• andreak100
    10 years ago

I'm not an expert, so maybe one of them will weigh in here for you, but in my layman's eye, while it's unfortunate that the colors are off, from the photo, the seam seems to be good - tight, level, etc. I understand that it's not nice having the colors a bit different, but the stone is what it is and if there was a seam necessary, the company probably did what they could to match it up as well as possible.

In some cases, doing a bookmatched seam (two slabs that shared the same top surface at one point) makes sense if it's a seam that's in a highly noticeable place like an island...bookmatching will keep you closest to the color, although you wind up with grain and veining running opposite then, so to me bookmatching is best done when it's centered in a run, particularly an island.

• Bunny
    10 years ago

I see the seam before I notice that the two sides are different shades. Could the seam be redone in a lighter color?

• Gracie
    10 years ago

Agree with Linelle. Can't tell anything from an iPhone pic, but the seam looks more obvious than it should.

• PRO
    Granite City Services
    10 years ago