Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help me pick a granite! Natural maple cabinets/dark floors

Posted by uniquelyyou (My Page) on
Sat, Jan 8, 11 at 1:00

Hi-

This is my first time posting. We are in the process of updating our kitchen.

We have natural maple cabinets (with brushed nickel hardware) and super dark (almost black) hard wood floors. Right now we have black appliances, but are considering upgrading to stainless. Our walls are a pea green color. I would say overall our home is decorated Pottery Barn style, with a few modern touches, if that helps at all.

I'm stuck on what color granite to go with. I've considered Venetian Gold, but find it kind of "generic" and standard. I also took a sample of Tan Brown but I'm not sure if it's too much dark with the floors and black appliances. I feel if we went with a super dark counter we would need to for sure go the stainless route for counters.

I would love any suggestions you have for granite that would look good, and pictures would be awesome if you have some.

Thank you so much!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help me pick a granite! Natural maple cabinets/dark floors

I have natural maple cabinets that I loved when I chose them. It wasn't until I started looking at granite that I realized exactly how "peachy" they could look when all the appropriate granite samples had "peach" undertones.

I finally chose Costa Esmeralda which shows muted green/grey. I am soooo glad did, this offset my initial disappointment with the light natural maple.

I was also drawn to lighter granites for the cabs such as Giallo Ornamental and Kashmir White. My wall color is also an olivey green.

I am extremely pleased now with the cab's and granite - the choices suit my tiny kitchen and home.

I know this is a tuff and very expensive decision!!!(pardon the construction MESS)!
Photobucket

o

This has shades of darker and lighter pea greens as well as tans.

Here is a link that might be useful: ferndale

o