Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
linzvirgo_gw

Backsplash- WZ tile and above range area

linzvirgo
11 years ago

This is my first time posting on GW although I have been a lurker for months while renovating our kitchen in our 1930s home. We finished everything in August (right in time for baby #3) literally to the day. We have lived with no backsplash since then, but it is time! I thought I wanted a natural stone, travertine, etc until I saw the WZ Ashbury and fell in love. The only thing is I have no idea what to do with the niche above our range we had built. I would love any ideas-you guys have helped me with SO many decisions and I want to thank you for that. Help!!

Comments (20)

• linzvirgo
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Posting another picture from another view-couldn't figure out how to do more than one at a time:) I know it's not the best view-I will have to take some more.

• breezygirl
    11 years ago

Where to start! So much to say.

First, welcome out of lurkerdom! Nice to meet you.

Second, holy arched, columned, and coiffured goodness!! Be still my heart. Just gorgeous.

Third, I've been eyeing that Ashbury for...well...a couple of years. Beautiful.

Fourth, what color were you considering? Velvet? Suede? White? I don't recall how cold the white is IRL, but I'm guessing its not as warm as the beigey browns you've got going on already.

Fifth, congrats on the new baby! I've been living without a bs for more than 14 months now so don't feel badly.

Lastly, I'm sorry to say that I don't think I really see the Ashbury in your space. You've created a wonderfully traditional looking kitchen. Thick ogee edges. Elaborate moldings. Raised panel doors. Glazing. Corbels. To me, the Ashbury reads more modern, eclectic, and vintage all at the same time. But not traditional. I don't have another suggestion for you either. IMHO, your kitchen needs a different tile. Sorry! Was there any other tile under consideration?

• hobokenkitchen
    11 years ago